Small Stella

The place to talk about Stella4D, Great Stella, and Small Stella. Feel free to ask questions about them here.
Keith

Small Stella

Post by Keith » Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:43 am

Hi, I am a Stella newbie so please forgive me if this question is easy! I notice that the two side by side windows containing the polyhedron and its net seem to randomly blank out to white. Also, when looking at a print preview of the net, the main screen returns leaving the print preview in the two side by side windows. Clicking around a few times usually gets me back to normal but I wondered whether this was a feature or a problem? Thanks for any help.
Keith.

robertw
Site Admin

Post by robertw » Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:50 am

Hi, feel free to post easy questions :-)

The behaviour you describe doesn't happen for me. Sounds like it's not always redrawing when it should.

When do the windows go white? Can you pin that down at all?

What kind of machine do you have? Laptop or desktop, how old, and what version of Windows? And what graphics card, if you know?

Keith

Small Stella

Post by Keith » Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:06 am

Hi Robert, thanks for your prompt reply. I suspected it would be a problem and not a feature! My computer is a desktop, home-built and now a few years old (4?). I am running Windows 7 Home Premium. The processor is a Intel i5-3570 CPU @ 3.40 GHz. I have 8gb of memory installed and the graphics card is a NVIDIA GeForce GT 730. I run 2 displays off this card. Don't know whether any of this info will be helpful but I don't really want to start getting new hardware. I was tempted to download the demo version of Great Stella and see whether it had the same problems. What do you think? Hope to hear from you soon and thanks again.
Kind Regards,
Keith.

Keith

Post by Keith » Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:08 am

Sorry - should have mentioned that the white areas seem to appear quite randomly - I am not performing any keypresses or mouse clicks when it occurs.

robertw
Site Admin