I click through the polyhedron

The place to discuss MineSweeper3D.
damangio

I click through the polyhedron

Post by damangio » Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:29 pm

I'm a big fan of Minesweeper3D. I recently started playing it again after a long break and encountered a problem I'd never had before. Sometimes instead of affecting the tile I click on, my clicks travel through the polyhedron and hit a tile on the opposite side, or on another part of a nonconvex or toroidal board. This can happen with all three types of clicks and is more frequent on nonconvex or toroidal boards. Needless to say, this can have disastrous consequences and is quite frustrating. It doesn't happen if the intended tile is facing me straight-on. I can keep from left-clicking through the board by holding my mouse button down to see if the intended tile is highlighted before I release, but I still have a lot problems from mistakenly and unknowningly marking mines on the other side of the board that mess me up later on.

I run Windows 7 32-bit, as I used to before having this problem. Any ideas why this might by happening?

robertw
Site Admin

Post by robertw » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:44 am

Hi, I haven't heard of that happening before, but I have an idea what might cause it. I'll look into it when I get a chance and hopefully be able to fix it.

Thanks,
Rob.

robertw
Site Admin

Post by robertw » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:14 pm

You might want to make sure you've got the latest OpenGL drivers for your graphics card too. It seems odd to me that this error could happen in MineSweeper3D. Your system must have a very limited OpenGL pick buffer.

robertw
Site Admin

Post by robertw » Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:28 pm

I just put up a new version of MineSweeper3D, version 2.7. I'm hoping it fixes your problem (although I can't reproduce it). Please let me know either way.

Thanks,
Rob.

damangio

Post by damangio » Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:17 pm