mine sweep TRUE 3D

The place to discuss MineSweeper3D.
rainman002

mine sweep TRUE 3D

Post by rainman002 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:26 pm

No offense to this really neat game, but the tiling is still technically 2d just mapped on a 3d object. I am a java programmer myself and I am curious what everyone thinks of the idea af making a minesweeper where the "tiles" are really cubes conected like an NaCl crystal of something. Then I could have several different crystal patterns and stuff. The view would be like from a tiny camera flying through it. The cubes/tiles would not be touching but bordering ones will have lines to show connection.

robertw
Site Admin

Re: mine sweep TRUE 3D

Post by robertw » Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:17 am

Yes, it's 2D tiles wrapped around 3D shapes. When I had the idea I did a search and found quite a few true 3D versions out there, but none like the one I wanted to make. I tried some of the ones with true 3D tiles, but just found them too confusing and difficult to play. A cube has 26 neighbouring cubes for example!

I like your idea of a crystal-like structure though. The ones I've seen use tightly-packed 3D tiles, and transparency so you can see what's going on, but they are still a challenge to visualise. The crystal structure might be clearer, and allow for less than 26 neighbours by only looking across rods between tiles. Flying through the structure might still make it difficult to get a grasp on where you are etc.

On the other hand, I had an idea where you are inside a 3D shape, with 2D tiles. You could fly down corridors etc, clicking on the tiles on the walls. That might be cool, and maybe I'll get around to it someday. But flying around inside a completely open 3D structure might be more disorienting.

Good luck. If you decide not to go ahead with it, but would still like to see it made someday, let me know and I might be interested in doing something like it myself.

Rob.

rainman002

few changes + details