Angles of edges

Suggest new features for Stella.
boomfiziks

Angles of edges

Post by boomfiziks » Sun Jun 24, 2012 3:40 am

Hello. I am new to using Stella 4D. One of the main reasons I got the program was to help me to create wooden models of the shapes. I do a fair amount of segmented woodturning and a lot of the segments are flat and the edges (where the wood meet to create the circle) are mitered to create a circular shape. It's pretty easy to figure out the angles, just dividing the number of segments by 360.

What I would like to see is a display of each angle of the face of the shapes AND the angle of the edges so that they when I glue them together, they are mitered to the correct angle.

I've recently discovered the ability to stretch/squash the shapes and this has given me the idea of making some very unique woodturnings. The problem is, figuring out all of the angles would be a nightmare for a stretched/squashed polyhedron (using the non-uniform scaling).

I'm not sure if this feature is already available. If so, could someone direct me of where I could find it? If not, is there a way to figure it out on the Stella 4D software?

Thank you for your time,
Dwight

robertw
Site Admin

Post by robertw » Sun Jun 24, 2012 5:32 am

Is this what you want?

You can see this by using "Display->Show Vertex Angles" and then selecting a vertex with Ctrl+Right-click. The yellow angles are what you want, if I've followed what you're asking. These are the angles of the faces surrounding a vertex once flattened onto a single plane.

Rob.

robertw
Site Admin

Post by robertw » Sun Jun 24, 2012 5:50 am

Actually, that's for angles around a vertex. You might also be interested in "Nets->Show Edge Data->Dihedral Angles" and "Nets->Show Edge Data->Mitre Angles". You need a flattened or folding net view open to see the result. It shows the angles on each edge.