My Reccommendations

Suggest new features for Stella.
Nordehylop

My Reccommendations

Post by Nordehylop » Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:56 pm

I have been using Great Stella for a while (about 6 months or so) now, and I absolutely love it. Since I use it a lot, though, I have found a few things that I think could be improved in the next version. Most of them are little things:

1. When you changer the dimensions (radius, edge length, etc.) of a polyhedron, the window that pops up should show what measuring system it is set to (inches, cm...).

2. When in faceting mode, it would be helpful if the *last* vertex you selected were a different color, so that you could keep track of where you are when you are faceting and rotating the model around.

3. It would be nice if you could reset the default colors for the models. For example, you could set the "primary" default to blue, so that all models with one type of face would appear blue, not red.

4. A nice feature would be to have an alternate library of Magnus Wenninger's models available. In other words, the models in this library would appear with the same numbering as in his book.

The only big change that I would like to see is with the net printing. I have thought about it for a wile, and I think that the easiest solution would be to have a mode that you could go into where you could disable the borders around the nets and drag and rotate the nets on the pages, in whatever pattern you like. For example, if you print out the nets for the icosahedron (as twenty triangles as opposed to one big net), Stella will surround each triangle with a square, and then tile the squares on the page. If you could override this function and instead place the nets on the pages as you saw fit (for example, in a triangular tile formation), you could save a lot of paper.

I am sure that I will think of more ideas as I further explore this program, so this is not the end!
It's always darkest just before it goes pitch black.

robertw
Site Admin